1X Neo, tracked: $20,000, a $200 deposit, and nobody outside 1X has one

Neo costs $20,000 or $499 a month behind a $200 refundable deposit, and as of 2026-08-07 there are zero customer deliveries anyone outside 1X can point to, with 1X's own April 30 factory post saying the units coming off the line go to its internal team first.
You can put $200 on a 1X Neo right now, fully refundable, and the order page will tell you US deliveries start in 2026. As of 2026-08-07 I can find no Neo delivered to a customer that anyone outside 1X has confirmed. No buyer unboxing. No press piece written from a delivered unit. Nothing on 1X's own publication index.
The most useful sentence anyone has written about Neo's schedule came from 1X CEO Bernt Børnich in the factory post of April 30, 2026: "Some of you will get your NEO this year, some will get them later." One paragraph on, the same post says the Neos currently coming off the Hayward line "are being prioritized for our internal team to accelerate development and testing in homes."
That is where the most advertised home robot in the world actually stands. Everything below is dated so you can check it yourself.
Neo status box
- Orderable: Yes, US only, at 1x.tech/order
- Price: $20,000 Early Access (ownership, 3-Year Warranty, Premium Support, Priority Delivery) or $499/mo Standard (Monthly Subscription, Starter Productivity Package, Standard Delivery)
- Deposit: $200 Deposit Due Today, marked "Fully Refundable"
- Claimed delivery: "US Deliveries start 2026", the order page's exact words. Other markets from 2027, per the launch post
- Customer deliveries I can confirm: zero
- Autonomy: foundational autonomy out of the box, plus "Scheduled Expert Mode", in which a remote 1X employee supervises the hard parts
- Factory: Hayward, California. Stated capacity up to 10,000 Neos per year, more than 200 employees (2026-04-30)
Two plans, and the sentence that separates them
Both plans get the same robot. What differs is money and queue position.
| Standard | Early Access | |
|---|---|---|
| Price | $499/mo | $20,000 |
| What you own | nothing, it is a subscription | the robot |
| Warranty | not stated on the order page | 3-Year Warranty |
| Support | not stated | Premium Support |
| Delivery tier | "Standard Delivery" | "Priority Delivery" |
| Deposit | $200, fully refundable | $200, fully refundable |
1X was blunter about the split on launch day than it is now. The October 28, 2025 announcement describes $20,000 as the tier "which includes priority delivery in 2026," and the $499/month subscription as the one "which will be shipped at a later date." Later than 2026 is not stated, because the length of the queue is not published anywhere.
The subscription takes just over 40 months of payments to reach the purchase price, and the buy-or-wait argument lives in the preorder explainer. This page tracks whether either plan produces a robot.
Every delivery promise, dated
| Date | Source | The wording | Where it stands on 2026-08-07 |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-10-28 | 1X launch post | "first orders shipping to consumer homes in 2026"; US first, other markets "starting in 2027" | Open. Unmet |
| 2025-10-28 | WSJ hands-on by Joanna Stern, per Wikipedia's summary | most tasks teleoperated by a human in a VR headset | Consistent with 1X's own Expert Mode wording today |
| 2026-02 | Fortune, secondary in my notes | Neo could not do household tasks autonomously; staff drive it in VR; early adopters train the AI | No maker statement since contradicts it |
| 2026-04-30 | Børnich, factory post | "Some of you will get your NEO this year, some will get them later." Current units prioritized for the internal team | The first public narrowing of the promise |
| 2026-07-09 | hands post | "These are the hands that will ship on every NEO" | A parts milestone, not a delivery |
| 2026-08-07 | order page | "US Deliveries start 2026" | Wording unchanged. 146 days left in the year |
Read the fourth row twice. Same promise, kept, with the population it covers quietly reduced from "you" to "some of you." Nothing in that sentence is false, and nothing in it commits 1X to your address.
The published spec sheet
Every number below is from 1x.tech/neo. 1X publishes no test conditions or footnotes with any of them.
| Spec | Published figure |
|---|---|
| Height | 5 ft 6 in |
| Weight | 66 lb |
| Lift capacity | 154 lb |
| Carry capacity | 55 lb |
| Arm payload | 18 lb |
| Walking speed | 1.4 m/s |
| Max run speed | 6.2 m/s |
| Hand speed | 8.0 m/s |
| Battery | 842 Wh, 4 h runtime |
| Noise | 22 dB |
| Compute | 1X NEO Cortex (Nvidia Jetson Thor), up to 2070 FP4 TFLOPS |
| Degrees of freedom | hands 22 x 2, arms 7 x 2, neck 3, spine 2, legs 6 x 2 |
Three of those deserve a slower look. A 66 lb machine credited with a 154 lb lift is lifting more than twice its own mass, with no posture, bracing or duration described. The 22 dB figure carries no distance and no task, which makes it a number about a robot standing somewhere rather than one working in your kitchen. The joints add up to 75 by my arithmetic, a large count for a consumer machine and the reason the hands got an announcement of their own.
The real battleground is hands. 1X's NEO hand: 25 DOF, 22 fully actuated in fingers/palm, plus 3 at the wrist. Tactile/shear sensing; demos include zippers and USB-C. Legs walk. Hands earn. (@HD_Dispatch, 2026-08-14)
"Scheduled" is doing two jobs on the same page
The Neo product page sells the chore loop like an appliance: "Give your NEO a list of chores, schedule a time you want them done and come back to a cleaner home everyday."
Further down the same page, the other schedule: "For complex tasks NEO doesn't know, an Expert from 1X can remotely supervise its actions at scheduled times." 1X brands that Scheduled Expert Mode. The page also advertises that you can "Pilot your NEO from anywhere in the world through your Mobile App & VR device," which is the same capability pointed at the owner instead of the vendor.
The FAQ list on the order page includes, in 1X's own phrasing, "Will a 1X Expert be able to connect and enter my NEO at any time?" A maker does not put that question on a checkout page unless buyers keep asking it. On our autonomy ladder, a machine with a scheduled human fallback for anything unfamiliar sits well below the rung the marketing implies.
Counting the fleet from its parts
With no delivery announcements to count, the parts numbers are the best public proxy for how many Neos exist.
The July 9, 2026 hands post says "hundreds of these hands have already come off a scalable production line" and that 1X can produce 10,000 hands this year. Two hands per robot, so hundreds of hands is at most a few hundred robots' worth, and a 10,000 hand annual run rate supports about 5,000 robots, half the 10,000 Neos per year the factory post claims as capacity. The factory post adds 17,000 motors produced since the line started, a Hayward site permitted in January 2026 and stood up in three months, and a San Carlos facility due later this year.
Real factory, real parts, real output. None of it is a robot at an address. For the wider scoreboard of who shipped anything this year, see what actually shipped in 2026; for the other side of the same coin, Figure has built more than 350 robots and sells none of them to households at all.
What would change this page
Four triggers, each of them checkable by anyone:
- A customer, not a 1X employee, filming an unboxing or writing up a delivered unit.
- The order page wording moving off "US Deliveries start 2026" to a month, or to 2027.
- Published Expert Mode controls: who may connect, when, what they see, and whether sessions are logged for the owner.
- Any post on 1X's index announcing customer deliveries. It has published nothing since July 9.
Until one of those lands, the tracker row reads the way it has read since October: a real order page, a real factory, real hands, and a delivery date that is still a year rather than a day.
One email when something actually changes: a delivery verified, a price cut, a robot discontinued. No weekly filler, unsubscribe whenever.